Teen Driving in Ohio: What One Needs To Know?
While many parents may assume that their teenage children are ready to get behind the wheel, they must also keep in the mind that Ohio has teenage driving laws in place to ensure everyone’s safety on the road. Violation of these laws can lead to fines, penalties, and license suspension. To avoid these consequences and to keep your teenager safe on the road, it is advisable to adhere to these laws and also educate your child about them.
Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC)
To obtain a Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC), teenagers who have crossed 15.5 years of age must clear a written and vision test administered by The Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. The written test checks the teenager’s knowledge about Ohio’s traffic rules and laws and requires a 75% passing score.
Once a teenager clears the exam, he or she can buy a TIPIC within 60 days. After getting a TIPIC, one can practice driving on public roads, but only in the presence of a certified driving instructor, parent, or guardian seated in the front passenger seat. If the teenager is aged between 16 and 18, he or she may learn driving in the presence of a licensed driver who is above the age of 21. Again, the licensed driver must be seated in the front passenger seat.
Getting a Driver’s License in Ohio
If a teenager successfully holds a TIPIC for six months, then he or she may get a driver’s license in Ohio, subject to the fulfillment of the following conditions:
- Completing a driver’s education course.
- Eight hours of driving instruction.
- Completing fifty hours of supervised driving and ten of these must be at might.
- Twenty-four hours of classroom instruction.
To get a driver’s license, one must take the skills test which involves an actual road test using the teen’s own vehicle.
Restrictions on Teen Driving in Ohio
During the first twelve month, teenage drivers in Ohio are restricted from doing the following:
- Driving between 10 pm and 5 am except certain circumstances. After holding the license for 12 months, this restriction goes away.
- Using their mobile phones in any manner.
- Driving more than one family member, unless a parent or guardian is present.
Further, all passengers in a car driven by a teenager must wear seatbelts. Violation of these laws may invite penalties, fines, and license suspension. The license suspension may last from 60 days to up to two years. Further fines upto $300 may also be levied. They may also impact the insurance coverage prices.